10-20 January 2019,
Adelaide, South Australia

Trek-Segafredo announce debut women's lineup
03 Jan 19

Team Announcement presented by Suzuki Motorcycles
Lauretta Hanson
Above: Lauretta Hanson in her new Trek-Segafredo kit. [Pic: Trek-Segafredo]

AUSTRALIAN Lauretta Hanson is set to lead the Trek-Segafredo women’s team at their first Women’s Tour Down Under next week.

Joining the Melbournian is Finnish rider Lotta Lepistö, Italians Elisa Longo Borhini and Litizia Paternoster, and Americans Tayler Wiles and Ruth Winder.

Hanson has said is thrilled to be able to start her season in her home country.

“I’m really looking forward to racing Santos Women’s Tour Down Under,” Hanson said.

“My family don’t get to watch me race that often so it’s really special for me to be able to start my season in Australia with my new team.

“I’ve always enjoyed the racing and the atmosphere that surrounds the TDU and it’s a great way to kick off my year with Trek-Segafredo.”

Trek Bikes announced the launch of the women’s team back in June, and preparations for the team’s debut have been taking place ever since.

Director Ina-Yoko Teutenberg says the team’s ambitions are high.

“We are all really excited about 2019 finally starting,” she said.

“The races come early and it is hard to peak for them but we come with a solid group of riders to the Australian races and for sure we want to be part of the action and will try to go home with at least one win in the bag.”

Aussie Richie Porte will headline the men's team at the 21st edition of the Santos Tour Down Under. 

The Santos Tour Down Under is the opening event on the UCI WorldTour calendar, taking place from 10-20 January 2019 in Adelaide, South Australia. 

Trek-Segafredo women’s start list

21. Lauretta Hanson (Australia)
22. Lotta Lepistö (Finland)
23. Elisa Longo Borghini (Italy)
24. Letizia Paternoster (Italy)
25. Tayler Wiles (USA)
26. Ruth Winer (USA)

DS: Ina-Yoko Teutenberg (Germany) 

More on tourdownunder.com.au...

Pure Blonde